Homepage / Community / Technical questions / Center channel 1723 THX sound dampening

Center channel 1723 THX sound dampening

Jared Beskow
Community Member

I ordered the 1723 Center THX speaker and it is on backorder. I started looking for a foam noise dampening to put under the center channel to refuge vibrations and sound bouncing off the equipment stand. I have heard it makes a big difference with vocals. Has anyone used them and find one that works and fits well with the 1723 Center THX? All I’ve seen online seem small.

All replies (10)

Thomas Gunvaldsen
Customer Support

Do you get any sort of vibrations going on on the stand/shelf/cabinet that the Center channel is placed on? I have had some experience with IsoAcoustics Gaia which work great, but from my testing (on Tower speakers mind you), they do most of their magic in the bass area.

Brandon
Customer Support

Hey Jared,

I have the 1723 THX Model S and I have used these with pretty good success and they are affordable

Foam Speaker Stands

They come apart and I use the smaller wedge for the center. You would have to get a couple of these to do the full 1723 THX center.

Iso pads will definitely be usefull and will improve sound fidelity, I suggest you to buy a couple of iso pads designed for 8″ recording studio monitors like the t.akustik ISO-Pad 8, they’ll do the job.

This post made me stop and think. I have pads under my towers and under my subs and I know what a huge difference it made. Especially the subs, I went from shaking the house to just having great sounding bass and could actually turn it up more. My center is in a wooden cabinet so imagine it could help. Thanks for the post!

Rene Paulus
Community Member

Hi Humberto,

You can have better sound if you place your center not in the wooden cabinet. The 1723 thx center must breath (try-out it out)

Jared Beskow
Community Member

Hi OrionPax36,