Homepage / Community / Hangout / Digital source for 2 ch listening

Digital source for 2 ch listening

Valentin Dumitrasc
Community Member

If this has been asked before, I apologize.

what are you using as a source for you 2ch listening? I am researching about this and there are so many options. For now I am stuck on the Marantz SACD 30n.

cheers,

Vali

All replies (18)

Luis

I use Roon to stream Tidal or FLAC files… Roon runs as a docker on my NAS and all of my music is also on my NAS.  I’ve been using Roon for the last 6+ years and so far, it’s worked out great for me.  I purchased a Lifetime license 6+ years ago, so it was significantly cheaper than it is today.

When sitting at my desk, I have a Schiit Lyr 3 tube amp and Sennheiser HD6xx headphones.  The Lyr has Schiit’s MultiBit DAC card, so USB output from Pi into the Lyr and Roon provides the audio stream.  I have another Pi connected to my Marantz Cinema 50 via a HiFiBerry DIGI2 Pro… again, I use Roon to stream.   The Pi’s are running Ropieee as the OS as that converts them into Roon endpoints.

When I had a dedicated 2 channel setup, I was using a Cambridge Audio CXN v2 as a Roon endpoint.  I compared a Bifrost 2 and Ares II to the DAC within the CXN v2 and ended up selling both external DACs.  Although both of those DACs were indeed very good, the extra cost wasn’t worth the slight audio improvement over the DAC in the CXN V2.  I never tried a Pontus nor similar priced DAC as I was more than satisfied with the sound from the CXN v2.

Honestly you’re listening to the DAC and it’s implementation… have you listened to it yet?  If you like the sound from the Marantz 30n, then you likely prefer a warmer sound signature.  Any streamer or external DAC with a R2R design should provide a similar warmer sound.  The Marantz would probably be warmer sounding than the CXN v2 with Schiit DACs being more neutral / slightly brighter sounding… not harsh nor fatiguing, just more sizzle on the top end.